Home > Associates News

New Leadership for Associates


Outgoing President Joel Marks, Joel Marks, seated Mark Roth, new NCHA President at the podium
HThe annual Hadassah Associates Business meeting in Las Vegas was packed with information and emotion. The delegates heard and watched a presentation from Professor Shlomo Mor-Yosef, HMO Director General, highlighting the hospital's award winning doctors, current research and Tower update. Seffie Epstein, Executive Director, Ayelet Tours, enlightened the audience about the upcoming 2012 Centennial Convention in Israel and the Associates Post-Convention trip. The final guest speaker was Michael Leven, President, Las Vegas Sands Corp,. who shared his expertise about the hotel and gaming industry.


Earlier in the meeting, Jeff Richardson, National Committee of Hadassah Associates (NCHA) Vice President gave a moving memorial tribute for Howard Kaplan, of blessed memory, NCHA Past President. We remembered Howard's generous heart, endless energy, humorous soul and loving friendship.

The meeting began with a "State of the Associates" address by outgoing President Joel Marks, followed by the installation of new NCHA officers. Mark Roth, new NCHA President, accepted this position with commitment and passion as he spoke to the assembled delegates and guests. He proudly recapped the Associates' accomplishments and growth since their establishment in 1966--raising over $60M during that time. He announced the Associates' most recent achievement, raising more than $40,000 to build a room in the Sarah Wetsman Davidson Hospital Tower in the name of Hadassah Associates.

Mark touched upon the current challenges of Hadassah. Instead of giving in, he implored, "It's time to step up our game…..Hadassah will exist because the needs are too great and too important for any other outcome."

Mark believes that men should become more active in Hadassah because of the Hadassah story: first responders in disaster scenes across the world, groundbreaking research we perform at Hadassah Hospital, the race/religion- blind medical care we provide, and life changing social and educational opportunities for youth. Men need to send a message to their children and grandchildren, friends and business associates, by supporting Hadassah.

Mark also had the opportunity to address the full delegation at the Tuesday evening Gala Dinner. He shared his Zionist passion and commitment to Hadassah, stating, "We derive our inspiration from the women of Hadassah and we share a common vision." He spoke of teamwork and asked the women of Hadassah to work together with the men in their communities, saying, "We no longer have the luxury of time on our side; the needs are too great and if we do not actively touch these men, we will lose them to other organizations."

To read either speech in its entirety, visit www.hadassah.org/associates.

Congratulations to Martin Weiland, new NCHA Executive VP and David Black, new NCHA Board Member. Thank you to the entire NCHA Executive Board for their hard work and continued support of Hadassah.

Special thanks Joel Marks, NCHA Immediate Past- President, for a job well done. Joel will continue his involvement on the board as Nominating Committee Chair and Associates Keeper of the Gate representative.

Associates are MEN WITH A MISSION

  • Thank you to all of the Honorees for the Men's Health Initiative

    View the Honor Roll Page

    Arnold Barsky
    Jack Benz
    Bradley Blair
    Jason Bloch
    Norman Bobrow
    Sheilah & Jerry Brandes
    Sharon Cadoff
    Barry Chiswick
    Arnold Cohen
    Marc Cohen
    Janet Daneshgar
    Mark Elfant
    Marvin Feig
    Frederick Fink
    Burton Garfinkel
    Stanley Gold
    Donald Goldberg
    Edward Green
    Norman Green
    Haren Haber
    Steven Haber
    Marvin Heyman
    Jacob Hoffman
    Steven Koppel
    Burton Krull
    Craig and JeffLamb
    Larry Leveen
    Sheldon Levine
    Alan Lipschultz
    Leslie Litzky
    Andrea Lovett
    Cyrus Mager
    Majestic Isles
    Jerome Makowsky
    Joel Marks
    Norman Minsky
    Louis Numkin
    Sheldon Osobow
    Ariel Ostad
    Norman Patinkin
    Alan Piaker
    Jeffrey Richardson
    Ronald Riebman
    Charlotte Rosensweig
    Mark Roth
    Milton Sabin
    Fredrick Safer
    Michael Sapovits
    Laura Schiff
    Joseph Schwartz
    David Smith
    Ari Smith
    James Smith
    Joseph Stein
    Myron Tannenbaum
    Ari Tannenbaum
    Fern Tannenbaum
    Heidi Wolk
    Stanley Zolot
    Rachel Zolot


   |  Who We Are  |  What We Do  |  Where We Do It  |  Read About It  |  Join Now  |  Donate  |
  |  Login  |  Contact Us  |  Careers  |  Terms & Conditions  |