Home > Hadassah National News

Search Hadassah News

Search Hadassah News, hMedicine and hCoast-to-Coast archives:   

Francesca Segal to Receive Harold U. Ribalow Prize

New York – Author Francesca Segal Winner of the 2013 Harold U. Ribalow Prize for outstanding Jewish fiction will go to joins an illustrious list of awardees today as honors her with this year's. For the past 30 years, Hadassah Magazine has honored an author who has created an outstanding work of fiction on a Jewish theme, and Segal will be honored December 4th in New York.

"We are thrilled to honor Francesca Segal with the Ribalow Prize," said Marcie Natan, National President of Hadassah,the Women's Zionist Organization of America. "Ms. Segal's extraordinary talent is evident to all who have read her first novel, and the world she has created of an English community still dealing with the ramifications of the Holocaust is truly remarkable. We look forward to seeing her career blossom over the coming years, enhanced with our magazine's coveted award."
The Innocents, Segal's debut novel published by Hyperion Books, is a modern take on Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence that moves the setting from New York to North West London's upper-crust Jewish community. Segal describes a community with deep bonds of family and tradition, one still haunted by the shadow of the Holocaust. In addition to the Ribalow Prize, The Innocents has been honored with the 2013 National Jewish Book Award for Fiction, the 2013 Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature, the 2012 Costa First Novel Award and numerous other awards.

"Winning the Ribalow Prize is an absolute honor," said Segal."It is a privilege to win an award like this and to have this novel embraced by the Jewish community. A prize like this can truly be career-changing. I'm so grateful to Hadassah, Hadassah Magazine and the entire Ribalow Prize community."
Segal joins a long line of renowned authors who have won the Ribalow Prize from the award-winning Hadassah Magazine, including Jonathan Safran Foer, Nathan Englander and last year's winner Edith Pearlman. Segal was chosen by an independent panel of judges including Nobel Peace Prize laureate Elie Weisel, Pulitzer Prize winner N. Scott Momaday, and Jonathan Freedman. The other finalists for this year's prize were When We Argued All Night byAlice Mattison andBy Blood by Ellen Ullman.
The prize will be presented at a ceremony on Wednesday, December 4 at 3:00pm at the UJA-Federation Building at 130 East 59th Street, New York.
About the Author:Francesca Segal studied at St Hugh's College, Oxford, before becoming a journalist and writer. Her work has appeared in Granta,Newsweek, the Guardian, theFinancial Times, and Vogue UKand US, amongst many others. She has been a features writer atTatler, and for three years wrote the Debut Fiction column in the Observer.

About the Award:
Hadassah Magazine's annual literary award for outstanding Jewish fiction was established in 1983 by the friends and family of the late Harold U. Ribalow, an editor, writer and anthologist known for his passion for Jewish literature and his interest in promoting the work of many now-famous writers. Ribalow was inducted posthumously into the International Jewish Sports Hall of Fame in 2009 for his contributions to society through sports writing.

About Hyperion:
Hyperion is a division of Hachette Book Group (HBG), a leading trade publisher based in New York, part of Hachette Livre, the third-largest trade and educational publisher in the world. HBG's other publishing divisions are Little, Brown and Company, Little Brown Books for Young Readers, Grand Central Publishing, Hachette Nashville, Orbit, and Hachette Digital. For more information, visit www.hachettebookgroup.com or www.hyperionbooks.com


1983 Chaim Grade
Rabbi and Wives

1984 Francine Prose
Hungry Hearts

1985 Max Apple
Free Agents

1986 Lore Segal
Her First American

1987 AharonAppelfeld
To the Land of the Cattails

1988 Anne Roiphe

1989 Anita Desai
Baumgartner's Bombay

1990 Lynne Sharon Schwartz
Leaving Brooklyn

1991 Michelle Herman

Sandra Shor
The Great Letter E

1992 Louis Begley
Wartime Lies

1993 Merrill Joan Gerber
The Kingdom of Brooklyn

1994 Carol de Chellis Hill
Henry James' Midnight Song

Michael Blumenthal
Weinstock Among the Dying

1995 Magda Bogin
Natalya, God's Messenger
Special Award to
Henry Roth

1996 Benjamin Taylor
Tales Out of School

1997 Robert Cohen
The Here and Now

1998 Anne Michaels
Fugitive Pieces

1999 Richard Teleky
The Paris Years of Rosie Kamin

2000 Todd Gitlin

2001 Myla Goldberg
Bee Season

2002 Elizabeth Rosner
The Speed of Light

2003 Jonathan Safran Foer
Everything Is Illuminated

Aryeh Lev Stollman
The Illuminated Soul
2004 Joseph Epstein
Fabulous Small Jews

2005 Jenna Blum
Those Who Save Us

2006 Tamar Yellin
The Genizah at the House of Shepher

2007 Dara Horn
The World to Come

2008 Nathan Englander
The Ministry of Special Cases

2009 Peter Manseau
Songs for the Butcher's Daughter

2010 Sara Houghteling
Pictures at an Exhibition

2011 Howard Jacobson
The Finkler Question

2012 Edith Pearlman
Binocular Vision

Hadassah Weekly Briefing

Read the most recent edition of the Hadassah Weekly Briefing including Jewish News from around the world and Hadassah News from the Hospital, College, Hadassah International, and more

Get it in your Inbox!

Some of our most popular
National news stories

   |  Who We Are  |  What We Do  |  Where We Do It  |  Read About It  |  Join Now  |  Donate  |
  |  Login  |  Contact Us  |  Careers  |  Terms & Conditions  |  
Copyright ©2014 Hadassah is a registered trademark of Hadassah, the Women's Zionist Organization of America