Welcome to the Columbus Chapter of Hadassah! > Photo Gallery

Photo Gallery

(left to right) Arnold Alpert, Pam Margolis, Emily Hindin, Arlene and Michael Armstrong handing their Hadassah donation check to Susie Blair, Andrea Alpert. Not shown: Judy Miller, Rochelle Millen, Beth Brown and Alice Levitin.

Team Hadassah
at JFS Walk

On September 18, 2011, Team Hadassah participated in Jewish Family Services’ 5K walk, which raised funds for domestic violence awareness programs.

Arlene and Michael Armstrong of Bexley donated $220 to Hadassah, matching the JFS registration fee, for each member of the Hadassah walking team.


(left to right) Installation Co-chair Susie Blair, Hadassah Central States Region President Carol Ann Schwartz, Columbus Hadassah Board Members Florence Cabakoff and Esther Bleiweiss, Columbus Hadassah President ,Viki Norman.

Columbus Hadassah Installation Meeting

The Columbus Chapter of Hadassah held its annual Installation meeting on May 29, 2008. Central States Region President Carol Ann Schwartz came from Cincinnati to thank the outgoing board for their hard work and dedication for the past two years and to install the new executive board.

Installation Meeting Chair Charlotte Franklin awarded Hadassah certificates to Audrey Brownstein, Harriet Bernstecker, Dorothy Garson, Helene Goldmeier and Ruth Rosenthal, thanking them for their long-time volunteer efforts on behalf of the chapter's mailing committee and bowling league. Pat Gold was acknowledged for her chairing the Study Circle Aleph Daytime Book Group.

Viki Norman is the new chapter president. Other members of the new executive board include Programming Vice Presidents Terri Searfos, Fran Sevel-Goldsmith and Susan Valentine-Cooper; Fundraising Vice Presidents Charlotte Franklin and Susie Blair; Corresponding Secretary Marci Carron; Recording Secretary Cindy McLaughlin; Treasurer Marcia Epstein; Office Treasurer Melissa Littman; Education Vice President Merry Lynne Lincove; and Nominating Committee Chair Patty Kahn.

Hadassah chairs and committee members this year include Esther Bleiweiss, Florence Cabakoff, Sandra Furman, Marilyn Levenson, Alice Levitin, Cheryl Lubow, Freda Margolies, Renee Resnik, Sandy Roseman, Leah Salis, Debbie Spenthoff, Laura Stein and Jill Winer.

Young Women Hadassah chairs and committee members include Lisa Friedman, Cheryl Golden, Jenny Slate Grischkan, Alla Magaziner-Tempesta, Andi Malinger, Raechel Pollack, Laura Schwartz, Michelle Waltman, Inbar Young and Gwen Zaczepinski.

Hadassah, the Women's Zionist Organization of America, is this country's largest women's group, and after the government, the largest employer in Israel. Hadassah's projects in Israel strengthen the unity of the Jewish people through progressive healthcare, education, youth institutions, and land reclamation. In the U.S., Hadassah is known for connecting young people to their Jewish roots, health awareness, and advocating for issues of importance to women and to the American Jewish community.

The board offers its thanks to Charlotte Franklin for graciously hosting Installation, and to Susie Blair, for co-chairing and for helping to make the event fun and meaningful for the 50 members who attended.

Hadassah Leadership Seminar

Members who have been to National Convention know that Hadassah has some of the best speakers around, women passionate about the role of Hadassah in Tikun Olam. On February 17, 2008, our members had the opportunity to hear Debbie Friedman and Rochelle Edelman speak about The Power to Motivate, at the JCC. Debbie Friedman is National Hadassah Jewish Education Chair and past Southern Seaboard Region President; Rochelle Edelman is a public speaking trainer and national board member from Colorado Springs.

The three leadership seminars held in Columbus this year were chaired by Terri Searfos and Marilyn Levenson.

Installation 2008

Columbus Hadassah's honored volunteers (left to right) Helene Goldmeier, Ruth Rosenthal, Audrey Brownstein, Harriet Bernstecker and Dorothy Garson.

(left to right) Sibby Horowitz, Board Member Susan Valentine-Cooper, Helen Miller, Board Member Marci Carron, Judy Uhrman, Jill Winer and Lola Steinhart.

(left to right, seated) Ellen Schottenstein, Milly Rosenberger, Zina Landa, Marian Elman Cuenot; (standing, left to right) Joanne Grossman, Amy Nathans.


Hadassah Bowling

   |  Who We Are  |  What We Do  |  Where We Do It  |  Read About It  |  Join Now  |  Donate  |
  |  Login  |  Contact Us  |  Careers  |  Terms & Conditions  |