Greater Atlanta Hadassah > Our Chapter > Chesed Awards

Chesed Awards

Hold the Date:   The 2014 Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards will be presented on Sunday, May 4, 2014 at 2:00 pm at Congregation Or Hadash.  The Chesed awards have been given annually since 1992 to one student from each of the Atlanta-area Jewish day schools and synagogue religious schools. Students in grades 7-12 are eligible to receive the award, and each school chooses its own recipient. Student nominees are selected by their school based on the following criteria: their love for Israel; concern for fellow Jews and Jewish culture and heritage; concern for fellow human beings in manner and deed (menschlichkeit); and acceptable academic standing.  Refreshments will be served after the Awards Ceremony.  Please RSVP to the Hadassah office by Thursday, May 1st (678-443-2961 or

Our thanks, as always, go to member Marian Perling who graciously supports this program year after year. 

Mazel Tov to the Recipients of the 2013 Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards:  The 22ndAnnual Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards program was held at Congregation Etz Chaim on Sunday, May 5, 2013 

Photo album>>.                     Slide show>>.

Hadassah’s Chesed Student Awards, Atlanta Jewish Times, June 4, 2013.

Recipients of the 2013 Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards were as follows:

Ahavath Achim Synagogue – Aaron Duwell
Congregation Beth Shalom – Matthew Mutnick
Congregation B’nai Torah – Linsey Cohen
Congregation Dor Tamid – Ryan Shindler
Congregation Etz Chaim – Lena Robbins
Congregation Gesher L’Torah – Alyssa Sargon
Congregation Or Hadash – Rebecca Adler
Congregation Or VeShalom – Erica Rubin
Congregation Shearith Israel– Sydney Wolfe
Greenfield Hebrew Academy– Zoe Bagel
Temple Beth Tikvah – Daniel Sandfelder
Temple Emanu-El – Rachel Vaizer
Temple Kehillat Chaim – Rachel Liebman
Temple Kol Emeth – Cayla Harris
Temple Sinai– Danielle Gately
The Davis Academy– Sari Bircoll
The Epstein School– Roei Levi
The Temple– Zac Maslia
The Weber School– Gavriella Mendel
Torah Day School– Meechal Lovett
Yeshiva Atlanta High School– Ethan Arbiser

Twenty-one Atlanta-area Jewish teens were honored on Sunday, May 6, 2012 at Greater Atlanta Hadassah’s 21st Annual Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards Program held at Congregation Beth Shalom.

Recipients of the 2012 Marian F. Perling Hadassah Chesed Student Awards were as follows:

Congregation Beth Shalom – Matthew Prater
Congregation B’nai Torah – Erin Beiner
Congregation Dor Tamid – Nikki Mayo
Congregation Etz Chaim – Joel Rittenberg
Congregation Gesher L’Torah – Joshua Lieberman
Congregation Or Hadasah – Coby Benveniste
Congregation Shearith Israel – Orly Mansbach
Greenfield Hebrew Academy – Kevin Feldman
Temima High School – Michal Freundlich
Temple Beth Tikvah – Joseph Chanin
Temple Emanu-El – Abby Flaxer
Temple Kehillat Chaim – Alexander Newman
Temple Kol Emeth – Leigh Shapiro
Temple Sinai – Leah Michalove
The Amit Gar’inim School – Asher Newman
The Davis Academy – Max Harris
The Epstein School – Amanda Berger
The Temple Breman Religious School – Samuel Lack
The Weber School – Michael Usdan
Torah Day School – Devorah Levitt
Yeshiva Atlanta High School – Cayleigh Alhadeff

   |  Who We Are  |  What We Do  |  Where We Do It  |  Read About It  |  Join Now  |  Donate  |
  |  Login  |  Contact Us  |  Careers  |  Terms & Conditions  |